The Young Musician of Merton 2001 competition, held at the end of last month, once again hit the right note and was a great success for everyone involved.

The event took place at the Colour House Theatre, Merton Abbey Mills, between 23 and 26 April, with the final being held on Saturday, 28 April.

Merton Arts Council in conjunction with the Mayor of Merton, Councillor Ian Munn, organised the competition and it attracted children from across the Borough. Those taking part were entered into the following categories; string, woodwind, brass, voice and piano.

An adjudication panel of distinguished musicians had the difficult task of deciding between the competitors and this year the title of The Young Musician of Merton 2001 was not awarded as they felt this year’s entrants did not reach a high enough standard.

However, first prize went to Anna Anandarajah for voice, who received a cheque for £300. The Runner-up prize was awarded to Elsa Chapman for piano and she received a cheque for £150. Cups were also awarded for the winners of the other categories.

Councillor Ian Munn, said: “I would like to congratulate all the young people who entered this year’s competition. It was another great success and it makes me tremendously proud that there is so much young musical talent in Merton.

“I hope the competitors will not be discouraged that The Young Musician of Merton 2001 title was not awarded this year, but the very highest standards must be met to achieve this. I hope it spurs them all on to progress their talent and I wish them all the best in the future.”

Note to Editors:

The Adjudication Panel was made up of:
John Alldis (Chair), conductor of the Wimbledon Symphony Orchestra.
Marion Blech, a former concert pianist and teacher.
Averill Williams, a solo orchestral flautist.
Ian Partridge CBE an English tenor.
Christopher Hirons, director of some of Britain’s chamber ensembles.
Gary Ryan, a classical guitarist.

Former Young Musician of Merton winners include: Diana Yukawa 1998/99 (violin), Claire Wickson 1999/00 (double bass) and Karem Hasan 2000/01 (piano)