Merton’s Refuse team recognised for excellence

Merton Council’s refuse team was recognised for making waste and recycling collections in the borough easier at the ‘Let’s Recycle’ Awards for Excellence in Recycling and Waste Management last month.

Merton was amongst the many honoured at the national gala ceremony held at Landmark Hotel, Marylebone, London. The council’s Refuse Round 2 crew was awarded the runners up prize in the Collection Crew of the Year category. BBC Breakfast presenter Dermot Murnaghan presented the crew with their certificate.

The members of the refuse team were acknowledged for their work in managing Merton’s new zonal waste collection service, which has changed the way recyclable materials and household rubbish are collected right across the borough.

Of the waste crews nominated for the awards, the Refuse Round 2 crew was recognised for its continued efforts to deliver excellent services throughout the change of system, enthusiastically embracing the change and providing feedback to continuously improve the service. The crew was also acknowledged for delivering customer focused services and going beyond their normal duties.

Last year Merton moved up the recycling and composting league table to 11th in London, with a 30% recycling rate. This year, due to the efforts of residents and refuse crews, the council is pushing towards a 33% recycling target.

Merton Council’s cabinet member for environment and leisure services Councillor David Simpson said, “Congratulations to the refuse team for all their outstanding work. Our refuse crews’ sterling efforts ensure that the borough is kept clean and that refuse and recycling collections are made easier and more convenient for everyone living in Merton.”



The awards were organised by to honour the efforts of the private, public and third sector in waste and recycling
Over 200 representatives of waste and recycling organisations attended the event, which was supported by DEFRA’s Waste Implementation Programme, the Environment Agency, the Environmental Services Association and the National Association of Waste Disposal Authorities.
Picture available on request.
Refuse Round 2 crew: David Gumble, Gary Gumble, Clive Hookins and Terence Day who were short listed as collection crew of the year.