New-look cabinet announced at full council

At Merton’s annual council meeting tonight (18 May) a new-look cabinet was announced along with a new Mayor.

The new cabinet member for children’s services is now Councillor Katy Neep who takes on the portfolio from Councillor Maxi Martin, who passed away earlier this year. Councillor Neep has already been chair of the Children and Young People Scrutiny Panel which works to modernise the service the council provides young people.

Councillor Tobin Byers is the new cabinet member for adult social care, taking over the reins from Councillor Caroline Cooper-Marbiah. In this role he is set to work closely with the voluntary sector to provide good quality services to our most vulnerable residents, that are also value for money for the council’s taxpayers.

Taking on responsibility for environmental cleanliness and parking, Councillor Ross Garrod will lead on tackling people who drop litter on Merton’s streets and will also look at how wheelie bins could help with keeping the streets clean and increase recycling.

In other changes, Councillor Caroline Cooper-Marbiah is cabinet member for education, Councillor Nick Draper is cabinet member for community and culture and Councillor Martin Whelton is cabinet member for regeneration, environment and housing.

Councillor Stephen Alambritis remains Leader, Councillor Mark Allison continues as deputy leader and cabinet member for finance and Councillor Edith Macauley remains cabinet member for community safety, engagement and equalities.

Councillor Stephen Alambritis, Leader of Merton Council, said: “I’m a businessman so I think it’s important to encourage talent in order to improve the services we offer to residents.  That’s why I’m excited that Katy, Tobin and Ross, three outstanding young councillors with new ideas and fresh ways of doing things, have joined the cabinet.  I look forward to working with them.”

Cabinet portfolios:

Notes to Editors

Full list of cabinet posts as of 18 May 2016:

Leader of the Council: Cllr Stephen Alambritis

Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Finance: Cllr Mark Allison

Cabinet member for Children’s Services: Cllr Katy Neep

Cabinet member for Adult Social Care: Cllr Tobin Byers

Cabinet Member for Education: Cllr Caroline Cooper-Marbiah

Cabinet Member for Community and Culture: Cllr Nick Draper

Cabinet Member for Regeneration, Environment and Housing: Cllr Martin Whelton

Cabinet Member for Community Safety, Engagement and Equalities: Cllr Edith Macauley

Cabinet Member for Street Cleanliness and Parking: Cllr Ross Garrod