Merton rewards its top class achievers

Merton Council celebrated the many achievements of the borough’s young people last week with a special event for secondary school pupils at the top of their class.

Top secondary school pupils in Merton attended the event on Thursday, 3 September held at the Civic Centre in Merton where they were given praise by the Mayor of Merton and Councillor David Simpson for their outstanding results and individual successes.

St Ann’s School, St Mark’s Academy, Bishopsford, Raynes Park, Ricards Lodge, Rutlish, Ursuline colleges all nominated pupils who achieved great personal results as well as stars who had scooped top GCSE results or excelled at particular subjects.

On behalf of Councillor Debbie Shears, cabinet member for children’s services, Councillor David Simpson raised a toast to pupils and said: “Our young people should be very proud of these results on behalf of the Council I congratulate them and wish them every success for the future”.

Yvette Stanley Director of Children Schools and Families for Merton said: “It is wonderful to see so many of Merton’s young people doing so well. Pupils of all abilities including those with special needs have had some huge personal achievements.

“The education of all our young people is one of Merton Council’s top priorities and part of that commitment involves recognising and rewarding pupils when they do well.”

“We are looking forward to building on these successes and working with our secondary schools to further raise standards so that all our young people can achieve to the highest level.”

Notes to editors:
Photos are available on request

The top achievers from each school are as follows:

St Ann’s School:
Luke Hand

Danielle Page
Patrycja Wiecaszek
Reece John Saxby
Jaynaide Powis
Jake Buckley

St Mark’s Academy:
Karl Tomsk
Tanya Kanagaratnan
Bertha Namukolo Jonazi
Schela Muakana
Laetitia Gayle

Raynes Park:
Joshua Freedman
Charlotte Murfin
Nadia Lavrado
Vicky Baker-Bayes
Abdulrahman Muhammad

Ricards Lodge:
Fatima Cheema
Angela Amuh
Chloe Davis
Aroosa Amjad
Katie Budd

Isabelle Kerr
Guenevere Forbes
Bibiana Aiyegbeni
Camilla Frost
Paula Brotherton
Isil Mirzanli

Riaz Ahmed
Farhad Mahmood
Callum Forbes
James Smith
Chris Sibthorpe